Scribblings and Musings

Welcome to my World

Two-Thirds …

on 11/21/2011

I haven’t been very good at updating this blog (or my others). I apologize for that.

I will say studying Criminal Law, attempting to write a novel (in a month’s time), having a life (well, keeping up with family and friends on Facebook as well as Twitter; which I love), trying to read a book, crochet and sleeping is challenging. There are only 24 hours in a day, and we sleep 1/3 (or should) of them away. With hobbies, housework, and errands, time gets away from me. If it were possible, I’d love to “borrow” time to get everything done.

While I am one of the lucky students enrolled in online classes, there is a certain amount of participation required.  Here is an example of what I need to do during each week (or module as they are called):

You must participate in, at a minimum, one academic-related activity on two separate days of a week to meet positive attendance for the week. An academic-related activity is defined as: A post, a journal entry, a Dropbox submission, or a completed My Lab activity. 

Not to mention I have to write and do research for one paper per week, and respond to two classmates on the “discussion” board.

I should spend about 45-90 hours of the 5 weeks studying, reading, researching and preparing assignments “outside” of class. While that translates to 3 hours per day, that is a minimum. So, there is a LOT of work there. I’m learning to manage, and of course there are some concessions I HAVE to make. It’s been tedious, but so rewarding to see the grades and progress I am making in my class.

But, that isn’t why I am writing this blog…it’s about my “novel”.

So, you’re wondering…how is my novel going?

It’s going 🙂 (better than I thought, not as well as I like).

I am just starting day 21, with 9 more to go. I should be at 35,000 words, but I am currently at 31,259. That puts me three days behind. Not to worry though, I have a few days to spend catching up. I might even get ahead as well, something I have been HOPING to do.  Since the holidays are coming up and my school has extended the due date by 2 days for one assignment, I would like to get the story to the 50k word mark. That is only 18,741 words to write, or type. I figure if I give my self all day Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday to write, there is no reason I can’t make this happen.

There is an interesting part though… I am not even at the half-way point for the story. When I was outlining this in October, I thought I didn’t have enough material for a novel, now I think I have too much. Sometimes I have wondered what I got myself into. But, I am no quitter. Sometimes I think I’ve forgotten how to quit–which is a good thing.

I wouldn’t change it for the world though. It’s been rough on my nerves, but I’ve been given a wonderful blessing, I won’t say I regret signing up for it…because I don’t. Now, if you don’t hear from me again, it’s likely I have climbed back into the story and I won’t give up until I hit 50,000 words. Then I have another 6 months to finish, edit, revise, edit and publish it.

I hope you all have a Happy Thanksgiving.  I certainly have a lot to be thankful for this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

