Scribblings and Musings

Welcome to my World

A Little Absent

on 10/17/2011

My weekend got off to a bad start on Wednesday (personal stuff), and by Sunday, the whole “weekend” sucked–emotionally and physically.

I don’t want to go into details here, as this is my writing blog, but I will post a link for those who are interested:

http://www.indycar.com/

Naturally, the one day I had set aside to work on my outline, turned into “yarn therapy”, minor story outlining and chatting with friends. My heart was not where it needed to be, but that is to be expected. While I did not follow Indy Car or Wheldon’s career, as a NASCAR fan, his loss impacted the racing world. In short, the weekend, like the race, was canceled. It was the only respectful thing to do.

I have personally driven on that track and those turns; I’ve seen NASCAR races there;  the hospital where Wheldon was taken, is the same one my mother works at….this story is very close to home. That is one story, I will never write. But, it is another chapter of my life.

So, if I am a little absent, you know why. I will be ok, I have faith in that. I will write, I will continue on. The only thing I ask? Hold your family a little longer and tighter. Say “I love you” a little more often.

2 responses to “A Little Absent

  1. tsizzles says:

    Wow, thanks for sharing. Great post! It reminds me of something I wrote recently on my blog. Nice job. Keep up the good work.

  2. You are welcome, and thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

